Badges and Awards

Membership and Participation Awards

The Membership and Participation Awards signify that a Explorer Scout has made their promise and has participated in the programme for a period of time.

  • The Moving on Award (Scout to Explorer Scout)
  • The Explorer Scout Membership Award
  • The Moving on Award (Explorer Scout to Scout Network)

more about Membership and Participation Awards...

Chief Scout's and Queen's Scouts Award

In ther Explorer Scout section there are three main awards:

  • The Chief Scout's Platinum Award
  • The Chief Scout's Diamond Award
  • The Queen's Scout Award

Activity Badges

There are 28 Activity badges specially designed for the Explorer Scout section, along with the six Staged badges.

Activity Plus Badge

Activity PLUS badges can be awarded if you develop your skills or knowledge to a higher level than the Activity Badge. It should represent a significant achievement,taking into account your abilities and the nature of the activity, as well as local facilities.

Complete the following requirements

  • Hold the relevant Activity Badge
  • Agree a target with the Explorer Scout Leader before seeking to gain a PLUS badge. This should involve taking part in additional training or involvement in the activity, in order to develop further your knowledge and / or skills.
  • Achieve the target to the satisfaction of the Explorer Scout Leader

The Activity Plus Badge is worn underneath the Activity Badge you have completed the requirements in.


Policy, Organisation and Rules and relevant Activity Factsheets should be referred to where appropriate.

A PLUS badge can be awarded for any Activity Badge, apart from the following: Any Staged Activity Badge; Aviation Skills; Advanced Aviation Skills; Nautical Skills; Advanced Nautical Skills.

If you need help designing alternatives to these requirements for those with special needs please contact the Special Needs Office at Gilwell Park.

Explorer Belt

The Explorer Belt is the challenge of a lifetime that is available to Explorer Scouts aged over 16 and members of the Scout Network.

Partnership Awards

Additionally there are three awards to be completed in association with other sections of the movement.

  • The International Award
  • The Faith Award
  • The Environment Award